sagetreeGOLD Member
organic creation
246 posts

Posted:

Non-Https Image Link

my name is sage and im diaboloholic. i have been at it about a month and i am just starting to learn 2 diabolos. i am working on genocides and infinite suicides as well as satellites under both arms and around the body.

some good places for begginers are:

diabolo.ca - diabolo forum

diabolotricks - huge list of diabolo tricks and flash videos

thediabolo - awesome for learning basic tricks

artofdiabolo - mad french posse - diabology (very good intructional and freestyle DVD)

from wikipedia:
Fundamental tricks

* Toss - the first trick everybody learns is to throw the diabolo up and catch it.
* Trapeze (A.K.A Stopover) - Swing diablo around stick and catch on string.
* Backside - catching the diabolo using the "bottom" of the string.
* Suicide (Stick release) - To temporarily let go of either stick and then catch it again.
* Grind - To balance the diabolo on a stick
* Sun - The diabolo is swung round in a large circle.
* Cradle - The line is tangled to form a shape and the Diabolo itself is tossed on or in the shape.
* Orbit - Diabolo is tossed and caught repeatedly to make it go round,
* Over (bodypart) Orbits (also known as satellites)- Advanced orbits to go around some body part. Primary hand arm and leg are considered the easiest.
* Knot - The line is tangled in a way it creates an illusion that the Diabolo is jammed. It can be released usually with an upwards toss motion.
* Elevator (String climb) - The diabolo "climbs" the string, this is done by whipping the string around the spool and pulling.
* Coffee Grinder - The diabolo is put on the "backside", then a trapeze position is found. From there, the diabolo is tossed multiple times over the stick.

Advanced diabolo

There are hundreds of tricks with thousands of variations which fall outside these categories, these are often more difficult and form the "cutting edge" of diabolo modern routines. Some examples are: