jemima (jem)SILVER Member
Pooh-Bah
1,750 posts

Posted:
I was watching a comedy quiz show called QI and I came across the word twixter.

I found out the meaning, and realised that I was one!!!

Its seems to be happening to people in their twenties after leaving college and university, being niether a teenager nor a responsible adult.

https://www.mashada.com/forums/index/show_topic/24/41072/index.php

I'm wondering whether its a good choice to stay in education for years and years after school, as its giving us to much freedom, and its too far from reality (particularly non-vocational courses).

Is there too much of a difference between education and the realities of the working world?

Should we have to get at least a couple of years work experience before even thinking about doing a degree for example?

Is it too easy to become a student these days?

Never assume
Always Acknowledge

Firetrampold hand
898 posts

Posted:
I studied untill I was 25 and then travelled the world for three years. Although I've lived in one and the same city for three years now and just had a baby, I still see myself as a Twixter.

Ask a question and be a fool for a minute...don't ask and be a fool your whole life.

Sambo_FluxGOLD Member
Introverted
833 posts

Posted:
Good thread! I can totally relate, I did the whole "get GCSE's, get A-levels, go to Uni" thing, popped out at the other side with a qualification that didn't get me anywhere (Audio and Music Tech Bsc (Hons) is apparently no substitute for being a runner on peanuts for a few years). I ended up overqualified for standard jobs, and without enough experience to do what I wanted (sound for media). It seems to be pretty common these days.

I mean, take a magazine like the Audio Tech bible, "Sound on Sound". Every month, it has 6 pages of adverts for media and audio courses, and 1/4 page with job adverts. Which is usually the same advert for sales reps at an audio store in central London working for peanuts.