KatincaSee my vest.... see my vest...
693 posts

Posted:
Hey All,I am a newbie at this Bulletin Board stuff. In fact this is the first post I have ever posted to a bulletin board. I have been properly fire twirling for just over a year now. And I was wondering what people’s philosophies are on poi-ing.I am of the philosophy to trance out and enjoy to flowing movements of the poi and feel them metamorphoses into other moves. I guess I can’t really say any more then I just zone out and twirl smile and when what I do feels good, or I do something different to what I am used to then I think I have gotten a new trick or at least morphed an old one. I just do what feels good and trance out to it.But from what I have read (and I admit it is little of this site, as I am pretty new at this) a lot of you guys tend to focus on moves and precision.Can you trance and morph moves gracefully with precision? Or does that just make your moves look structured and perfect every time?In other words if you are of the philosophy to learn tricks and put them together precisely, do you still gracefully morph new tricks out of old or do you find yourself trying to structure them?------------------ ~*~ Katinca ~*~

Love and Light

~*~ Katinca ~*~

Shouden-CrDSILVER Member
Veteran Member
495 posts

Posted:
Both. smile I learn from the structure so that I can learn how to perform "basic" moves. Then once I know all of the normal basic moves, just experiment around.Check out the other message board for "New Moves" it contains member-submitted thought up/accidentally created moves. smileI, for one, am for just feeling the vibe and going with it. If that means, fluid, graceful poi movements, then so be it. If that means quick, fast-changing, precise movements, then that is fine too. smile Whatever. Feel the vibe.------------------ [PLUR]-=Crazy Raver Dude=-

-=ÇrazyRaverÐude=-

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted: