Forums > Social Chat > men vs. women: an age old dilemma...

Login/Join to Participate

Le Skunkmember
84 posts

Posted:
this may settle the issue once and for all...my girl and i started doing poi around the same time, about a year ago. as a matter of fact, a year minus one week. anyway, at first i was picking up the moves a little faster than her, but not much. we were both very quick learners with all the moves, but it took her a bit longer to get the flow. btw, neither of us has any prior dance/gymnastic/acrobatic background to help us along. by i digress again...so i would say that anything i could do for a while, she would be able to do the following week. then when i started learning the behind the back stuff, she fell a little further behind, like maybe 2 weeks, but eventually she caught up.At this point, we both have a lot of the same moves, but very different styles. also we are both at the point where we can do everything we've ever seen done before (not to brag, but all the poi people we know have been learning and practicing together and we share a common basic pool of moves).so this is where we had to get creative. start making up moves on our own. which raises another problem. I make something up, go "honey, come check this out!" she goes "oh wow that's really cool!" and then i come home the next day to find her doing my new move, twice as good as i can. Now that's not fair! i work like 20 hrs a day, and most weekends! she goes to school, chills out, listens to music, sleeps, practices poi and works only on the weekends. She's got loads of practice time. and when i think about it, this is so diabolical, she's stealing my moves and she knows she can get away with it cause she's so damn cute and she allows me to have my way with her sacred temple of a body every so often.So the point is, oh wait a minute, i didn't make a point really, just ranting about my girlfriend. but beware, people!!! don't start dating people you practice poi with for they are evi