Forums > Technical Discussion > Conditioning for firetwirling

Login/Join to Participate

SparkfireFire coach - Cirque du Soleil
89 posts

Posted:
Can anyone think of a sport that has similar movements to double staff spinning?
eg. waving the arms all over, twisting alot and pumping hands open and closed? (yeah great description i know) biggrin

No seriously. I'm trying to figure how to take training to the next level.

I'm studying basic exercise phys at the moment and learning about the ATP-CP and lactic acid systems and the role of the aerobic system in sports events of 1-5 minutes ( Mystery Zone )

I already know a couple of tricks to improve short term performance:

basic creatine (CP) supplementation before training will increase available blood levels of CP allowing the ATP-CP system (explosive energy) to recharge quicker

Sodium Bicarbonate (baking soda) supplementation can help buffer the acidizing effects of lactic acid buildup (the burn in muscles) letting you go a bit longer before your forearms are on fire. BiCarb performance enhancement

But if i can find a sport that has similar movements theres bound to be further research, tips and tricks on specific training and enhancement.

Any ideas?

Mr MajestikSILVER Member
coming to a country near you
4,696 posts

Posted:
get heavier staffs, play more? how is that not enough? umm (they call it obsession tongue)

"but have you considered there is more to life than your eyelids?"

jointly owned by Fire_Spinning_Angel and Blu_Valley

mcpPLATINUM Member
Flying Water Muppet
5,276 posts

Posted:
I can't think of one. I could say that poi, CJ, 3 ball tricks, would have similar movements, but they aren't sports. Also some forms of dance, make heavy use of the motions you describe, again not sports thou.