Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Contact Poi Italian style (Throttle)

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
AcciaioSILVER Member
Tangled into my spins
187 posts

Posted:
All began when I started studying the basics of contact poi.

I don't consider poi on poi moves in this paper, we can refer to these moves as a different class of "contact poi" moves.

The most of these moves needs the poi to be in a straight position to simulate staff's or devilstick's moves.

That means that, while doing some moves like wibbles or propellors, we can use a part of devilstick's moves with our poi.

But here is my idea, the poi has a main core propriety that all of us know: its flexibility!!!

In the moves I referred to before, this is a limitation and an obstacle!

It can't be possible!!!I love poi in all their nature and I can't be limited by their main propriety!!!

Then I started to look for a move that uses this propriety and the nearest thing I found is the "tap throw":

-->Video

I worked a lot on it and when I arrived to have a little bit of control of one poi with it I asked myself what could be done to continue.

When I do the "tap" on my arm sometimes happens that the poi handle tries to wrap around the arm and everytime I cannot control it...then this is the next step!!! Control the handle wrap with my wrists!!!

-->Video

At this point of the story I had a long time without any other ideas to go on...how could be possible???

But an evening I made something wrong while training this move and I forgot to move back one arm, so happened this really nice thing: the poi after the first "handle wrap" around my left wrist rebounded back to the right wrist and it made ITSELF another "handle wrap"!!!

It was unbelievable and fantastic!!!

-->Video