Forums > Social Chat > LINUX, ready for the masses? (a newby guide)

Login/Join to Participate
Page: 12
_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:hello everybody, this is the new and improved first post of this thread. the original first post you can find somewhereon page two.

if you don't know anything about linux yet, read the linux Wiki for the basics.



if you are thinking of trying Linux, you might consider "(K)Ubuntu". it's the distro I'm using and it's supposed to be relatively easy to switch to from Windows. it's a 'Debian' based Linux system and it comes in 2 main flavours: Ubuntu and Kubuntu. the difference between the two is the Desktop Manager. Ubuntu uses "Gnome", Kubuntu uses "KDE". which uses more eye-candy, so is more windows like. for this reason I chose Kubuntu, to make the switch easier. read about (K)Ubuntu here



CONS TO USING LINUX: not all hardware (like printers) have drivers for Linux. But for most things, the community comes up with their own drivers. Check http://linuxprinting.org
for a list compatible printers.



almost anything you want to know you can find in the Ubuntu guide, but here is the easiest way I can think of to get Kubuntu running smoothly from scratch without reading the whole guide:



-INSTALLING KUBUNTU-



to install Kubuntu, I present to you the 5 step plan.

.

step 1: download a version of Kubuntu here. this will give you a LIVE CD. a live cd is the whole operating sustem running from just the CD, you don't need a hard-drive for this. this might come in handy when you are trying to rescue other systems.

.

step 2: burn the .iso image onto a CD and make sure you have some free, unpartitioned space on your computer (7GB or more is preferred)

.

step 3: boot from CD and run Kubuntu. click on the Install button on your desktop and it will start.

the installer is quite self-explanatory, but when you get to the partitioner you need to know the following:

you need to create 2 partitions: a SWAP partition (called swap, sized: 1-2 GB) and a root partition (called / , sized 6 GB and up).

after this, the basic system is installed.

_______________________________________________________________

.

step 4: installing some handy programs through the console

.

start Kubuntu.

click the blue K logo, bottom left of the screen, which will open your program-list.

from the list select: System > Konsole

in this console type step by step, followed by 'enter':

.

sudo cp /etc/apt/sources.list /etc/apt/sources.list_backup



sudo kate /etc/apt/sources.list


.

this will open a text editor with a long file, replace that file with this blue one and click 'safe': close file.





deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy main restricted universe multiverse

deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy main restricted universe multiverse



deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-proposed main restricted universe multiverse



## MAJOR BUG FIX UPDATES produced after the final release

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-updates main restricted universe multiverse

deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-updates main restricted universe multiverse



## UBUNTU SECURITY UPDATES

deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse

deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse



## BACKPORTS REPOSITORY (Unsupported. May contain illegal packages. Use at own risk.)

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse

deb-src http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-backports main restricted universe multiverse



## PLF REPOSITORY (Unsupported. May contain illegal packages. Use at own risk.)

deb http://packages.freecontrib.org/plf
edgy-plf free non-free

deb-src http://packages.freecontrib.org/plf
edgy-plf free non-free



## CANONICAL COMMERCIAL REPOSITORY (Hosted on Canonical servers, not Ubuntu

## servers. RealPlayer10, Opera, DesktopSecure and more to come.)

deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu
edgy-commercial main



## Listen

#deb http://theli.free.fr/packages/
edgy listen



## Automatix repo

deb http://www.getautomatix.com/apt
edgy main



#AUTOMATIX REPOS START



deb http://wine.lowvoice.nl/apt
dapper main



deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu
dapper-commercial main



deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
edgy-security main restricted universe multiverse

#AUTOMATIX REPOS END





go back to Konsole type step by step, followed by 'enter':

.

sudo apt-get update



sudo apt-get install synaptic gedit


.

after this you can install any program you like through the just installed synaptic.

___________________________________________________________________

.

step 5: tweaking:

.

now we are going to use a program called automatix to install all the non-free formats like mp3 and flash:

.

open synaptic: K-menu > System > Synaptic Package Manager and install automatix2.

.

open Automatix2 K-menu > System > Automatix and install all you need





anything else you need to install you can find in the synaptic program, in the K menu.



anything more you need to do to have things work, you can find in the Ubuntu Edgy Guide



if questions are still unanswered, or if you run into any problem, the very helpful Ubuntu Forums are there to help. any problem you can have, has been met and solved by somebody else before you...



that's it.



here are all the links I used:



http://www.kubuntu.org/
br>
http://www.ubuntu.com/ubuntu
br>
http://www.linuxprinting.org
br>
http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu_Edgy
br>
https://wiki.kubuntu.org/RestrictedFormats
br>
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/search.php

EDITED_BY: _pOp_ (1165930702)


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete Topic

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:Wooooooo!

Go PoP! biggrin

bounce



Im suggesting

www.opensuse.org ubbrollsmile


Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:yes, suze is "the other one" I was considering, but because I heard so much good things about Kubuntu, and my friend the computer nerd was using it, and able to help me with the first set-up, I chose Kubuntu, and I'm glad I did.



But no matter what distro you use, you can always run all the linux programs, even those that you were used to on your windows computer like Emule or Azureus...



PS: to get sound work better in firefox, go to Konsole and type:



sudo gedit /etc/firefox/firefoxrc




this opens another text editor, Add/Change line:

FIREFOX_DSP="aoss"



PS2: this is the full sources list mentioned in step 4, so you don't have to go to the link provided and mark all the boxes:



 Written by:



.

# deb cdrom:[Kubuntu 6.06 _Dapper Drake_ - Release i386 (20060531)]/ dapper main restricted

# deb cdrom:[Kubuntu 6.06 _Dapper Drake_ - Release i386 (20060531)]/ dapper main restricted



# Automatically generated sources.list

# http://www.ubuntulinux.nl/source-o-matic
br>


# If you get errors about missing keys, lookup the key in this file

# and run these commands (replace KEY with the key number)



# gpg --keyserver subkeys.pgp.net --recv KEY

# gpg --export --armor KEY | sudo apt-key add -



# Ubuntu supported packages (packages, GPG key: 437D05B5)

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper main restricted

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-updates main restricted

deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-security main restricted



# Ubuntu supported packages (sources, GPG key: 437D05B5)

deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper main restricted

deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-updates main restricted

deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-security main restricted



# Ubuntu community supported packages (packages, GPG key: 437D05B5)

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper universe multiverse

deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-updates universe multiverse

deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-security universe multiverse



# Ubuntu community supported packages (sources, GPG key: 437D05B5)

deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper universe multiverse

deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-updates universe multiverse

deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/
dapper-security universe multiverse



# Cipherfunk multimedia packages (packages, GPG key: 33BAC1B3)

# deb ftp://cipherfunk.org/pub/packages/ubuntu/ dapper main



# Cipherfunk multimedia packages (sources, GPG key: 33BAC1B3)

# deb-src ftp://cipherfunk.org/pub/packages/ubuntu/ dapper main



# Penguin Liberation Front (packages)

# deb ftp://ftp.free.fr/pub/Distributions_Linux/plf/ubuntu/plf/ dapper free non-free



# Penguin Liberation Front (sources)

# deb-src ftp://ftp.free.fr/pub/Distributions_Linux/plf/ubuntu/plf/ dapper free non-free



# Bleeding edge wine packages (packages)

deb http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/
dapper main



# Bleeding edge wine packages (sources)

deb-src http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/
dapper main

.





PS3: there is a second option to installing the restricted formats called Automatix. it will also preselect a list of "handy programs" like emule.



http://www.getautomatix.com/index.php

EDITED_BY: _pOp_ (1157299081)


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:Apologies for getting you confused with NoN, its all those letters that confuse me. redface hug2



I now have the SUSE 10.1 DVD and am currently in the process of clearing out a hard drive to install it to biggrin


Delete

Seye
SILVER Member since Mar 2005

Seye

Geek
Location: Manchester, UK

Total posts: 1261
Posted:The guy who started / runs the Ubuntu project used to own Thwarte (online payment security). He sold it to MS (its now merged with verisign) and he bought a private jet with some of the proceeds.

My housemates dad is his personal pilot biggrin


Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted: Written by: Seye


The guy who started / runs the Ubuntu project used to own Thwarte (online payment security). He sold it to MS (its now merged with verisign) and he bought a private jet with some of the proceeds.

My housemates dad is his personal pilot biggrin



wow! so this guy actually knows how to make money, but then still chooses to put all this work in a free distibution... but i must agree it sounds a bit double.

@UCOF: no prob, it took me a while to get your's too.
let us know how you find the new suze, and maybe write a 4 or 5 step guide for that one too? (including all the non-free formats, flash in firefox (with sound!) and all that Jazz...) then this thread could be the 5 step guide to installing ANY linux distro. smile


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

Seye
SILVER Member since Mar 2005

Seye

Geek
Location: Manchester, UK

Total posts: 1261
Posted: Written by: _pOp_

wow! so this guy actually knows how to make money, but then still chooses to put all this work in a free distibution... but i must agree it sounds a bit double.


He is from South Africa and hated the way that only the rich people over there could have computers due to the obscene costs involved in licencing software. As a result the team that work with him are trying to develop free linux based programs that will rival even the most expensive professional tools.
Free dreamweaver, photoshop and soundforge equivalents and much much more.

The world needs more people like this man!

I, unfortunately have quite a bit of hardware that I have absolutely no hope of getting and linux distro to work with frown

I'm considering setting up a dual boot - I'll still have to run windows for the majority of the time though (like if I want sound) frown


Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:I also dual boot to windows to use protools, but I should try to get into audacity for that, I'm just too lazy to learn new things right now (the same counts for photoshop/the gimp)

howcome sound wouldn't work? and what other hardware?


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

Seye
SILVER Member since Mar 2005

Seye

Geek
Location: Manchester, UK

Total posts: 1261
Posted:All my sound runs through a tascam us428 - A USB midi controller, mixer and input hub (analogue and digital). Its a few years old and they've stopped making them. I dont think that they really sold many. Especially not to the kind of people who would be likely to re-write the drivers for it.

Do you know what Ubuntu is like for mass storage devices and Midi data? I also have an akai sampler and a keyboard. (dont think that I can use reason, cubase or abbleton live on any linux distro yet anyway)


Delete

Seye
SILVER Member since Mar 2005

Seye

Geek
Location: Manchester, UK

Total posts: 1261
Posted:I also have ATI Radion 9000 Pro graphics card which apparently does not like linux frown

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:I just searched for your graphics card in the above mentioned forum, and it seems that this guy has the same card, so you could contact him to get the xorg.conf file you need.

but you are right ATI is not fully supported on Linux, it's better to get Nvidia.

I gotta go now, but I'll look into your other hardware thingies tonight, see if I can find anything.


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:on the tascam device:
http://hal9000.drehmoment.org/tascam/
br>
abbleton, reason, cubase, protools are windows/mac programms, you got a couple of linux versions, the best is audicity, which you can also try on windows and mac:
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
br>
mass storage devices like external hard-drives or an iPod you mean?
these are well supported.

but here's a ubuntu howto on USB audio devices:
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=30891&highlight=Midi+data+device
br>
and here is a ubuntu howto on midi devices:
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=58859&highlight=Midi+data+device
br>
but there should be more tips if you search a little.

guitar-rig:
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=156198&highlight=Midi+data+device


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:I have an ATI Radeon 9600 XT.. and when I booted to Knoppix yesterday.. things wernt right.

I think its the same problem as you described, that is ATI cards not fully supported.



I was having apps on knoppix not being displayed, menus going screwy, and it seems to hang when its loading up, but reports a timeout instead and carries on loading.



Any ideas?



Delete

Seye
SILVER Member since Mar 2005

Seye

Geek
Location: Manchester, UK

Total posts: 1261
Posted:biggrin Thanks - I'll look into sorting all of this out when I get back from Play.

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:oh, I forgot this one, to make java work:

sudo apt-get install j2re1.4

make sure you click "yes" to all the permissions.


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:Im having problems getting SUSE 10.1 and Xp to Dual boot.

At the moment, the boot loader (its the other main one other than LILO, I cant remember the name right now) loads up and shows either Suse 10.1 or XP.

Suse works fine, but when I try to boot to windows, it says Hal.dll is missing.

Now I know this Hal.dll is important as I have seen it appear (or not as the case may be) many times when my computer is FUBAR.

I think that if I try to install windows again, its going to get rid of the boot loader, and only allow itself to run. (Thats what happened the first ime I installed windows after installing Suse - I had to reinstall Suse to get it working again but as soon as I did that, windows didnt work (HAL.dll error))

Anyone got any ideas what I should do?


Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:appearantly this is a well known problem with dual booting, I found this in an article on dual booting windows XP with windows 2000.
since you have linux installed, and were hopefully smart enough to have windows on a FAT32 partition (see my first post), you should be able to boot into linux and apply the fix, without the mentioned removing of harddisk.
the full article can be found here, but this is the shortened version:

.

 Written by:

Hal.dll may or may not be found in D:\WINDOWS\System32 either way its no good.
A working copy of hal.dll WILL be found in C:\WINDOWS\ServicePackFiles\i386
COPY THAT FILE D:\WINDOWS\ServicePackFiles\i386\hal.dll
And Paste it to D:\WINDOWS\System32 folder; if it asks to overwrite say YES.
.
You should Now be able to boot the computer up as if nothing ever happened.
.
With the exception that it will prompt you to reinstall some drivers, Just say YES and let it auto detect THEY ARE ALREADY THERE. And will setup fine.
.
This "FIX" assumes that the computer in question HAS at ther very least service pack1, if not service pack 2.
.
If these patches have NOT been installed , I dont belive any such Reserve copy of hal.dll will wxist on the drive!



meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:another fix with a downloadable hal.dll file
.
if you don't have the service pack installed, you can find the hal.dll file on your windows install disk in the folder /i386/hal.dll
.


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

mcp
PLATINUM Member since May 2003

mcp

Flying Water Muppet
Location: Edin-borrow., United Kingdom

Total posts: 5276
Posted:I would suggest using ubuntu rather than kubuntu for newbies. Kubuntu isn't nearly as stable as ubuntu and isn't supported or made by the same people. Ubuntu is the main distribution. It's much better to use ubuntu and then install KDE than use kubuntu.

"the now legendary" - Kaskade
"the still legendary" - Kaskade

I spunked in my friend's aquarium and the fish ate it. I love all fish. Especially the pink ones. They are my bitches. - Anon.

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted: Written by: mcp


I would suggest using ubuntu rather than kubuntu for newbies. Kubuntu isn't nearly as stable as ubuntu and isn't supported or made by the same people. Ubuntu is the main distribution. It's much better to use ubuntu and then install KDE than use kubuntu.



I disagree, if you install KDE over Ubuntu, some keyfunctions of the control panel will not work. (I tried this recently), and even the initiator of Ubuntu now uses Kubuntu as his main distro.

somehow it is a thing with hardcore Ubuntu users that Kubuntu is a lesser system. Not true.

*hello meg, i saw you changed your site again, didn't like my design anymore? wink had to think of it yesterday because Laura elasta is visiting amsterdam right now and i heard of her through your videos:)


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:Man, Linux makes me feel like a retard...



right, I have found hal.dll in the i386 folder, I select copy, then goto system32, click paste, and it says drive is read only.

Either that, or paste is simply greyed out.



It also says I do not own the system32 folder, so cant change the permissions.



What do I do? redface



Secondly, when I try to do an internet update of Suse, it says:

"Dependency Resolution Failed

Establishing script: kub\ypp-patch-zmdrestart.sh-2-1533-1.noarch[suse-linux-10.1-updates]

This would invalidate script: </insert same long scipt name here>"



Huh? confused shrug


Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:Cheers PoP kiss

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:ok, it sounds like you don't have writing permission on the windows partition..
is it FAT32 or NTFS ??
if it's FAT, you need to set the permissions to write, you should check your suze forum on how to do that, I only have experience with Debian, where you have a fstab file (probably the same in suze) and the settings in debian for the windows partition in fstab need to be:
.
# <file system> <mount point>.......<type>...<options>..................<dump>..<pass>
.
/dev/hda1......./home/windows......vfat......iocharset=utf8,umask=000...0.......0

(for this it sucks we don't have TAB or multible spaces in the HoP forum, all the dots represent open space tabs)


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted: Written by: UmbiliciformCraterOnFace


Cheers PoP kiss



eh?

I didn't even reply yet?


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:It may well be NTFS frown

How do I check?

Ive just tried putting in the XP boot cd to use the recovery console, and it gets to the screen that says "Setup is inspecting your computers hardware configuration", then the screen stays black! ubbcrying

Any ideas?


Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:the file system is stated in de fstab file (see mine says 'vfat')
if you did an automatic install in XP it might well be ntsf though.


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:I said thanks as I saw you "Previewing a new post to "LINUX....." wink



Im bank in windows setup now btw.

I deleted the windows partition after reading http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/99609816/m/246001009731
smile


Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:XP is now installing using FAT32 smile

Delete

mcp
PLATINUM Member since May 2003

mcp

Flying Water Muppet
Location: Edin-borrow., United Kingdom

Total posts: 5276
Posted:we use ubuntu here and have had far more problems with kubuntu, including needing to totally reinstall it one time. But then if you're using kde, you really ought to be slapped. I sit next to one of the developers for enlightenment... can't think why it hasn't reached a 1.0 release yet...

sorry dude, the site was getting too big for a static layout. Joomla seems alright. I still haven't been bothered to make it work properly... I should at some point...


"the now legendary" - Kaskade
"the still legendary" - Kaskade

I spunked in my friend's aquarium and the fish ate it. I love all fish. Especially the pink ones. They are my bitches. - Anon.

Delete

_pOp_
BRONZE Member since Aug 2003

Playing OldSchool Poi
Location: amsterdam, Netherlands

Total posts: 593
Posted:okay, slap me then...rolleyes

my computer is fast enough for KDE anyway, and enlightenment is not really newby friendly (yet), no way a linux noob can costumize it to it's own needs...


meditate eRic.

I'm not normally a religious man, but if you're up there, save me, Superman!

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:Lappie is nowdual booting perfectly.

Thank you! hug2


Delete

Page: 12