Twisthem488member
187 posts

Posted:
Ok, I did a quick search, but I couldnt find a place that tells you what makes a good contact staff. I'm new to CS and I though I read something about it on MCP's site but I cant seem to find it again. Sorry If there is already a topic like this, as Im sure there is but Im in a hurry so to the point.
Im about to go take a shower, and after I do Im gonna check this thread, and then head out to the hardware store to get some stuff. Im planning on buying enough pipe for several projects IE blowguns, doubles, contact staff, But what I want to know is what makes a good contact staff? Im assuming the longer the better (to a point) and a good grip. But how much weight on the ends, how heavy, is a larger diameter good or bad... Any help would be greatly apreciated as I'd love to start Contact staff soon biggrin

Twisthem488

Im a Thespian, But I'll Act Normal Around You Guys

mcpPLATINUM Member
Flying Water Muppet
5,276 posts

Posted:
there isn't a this is how you make a staff section...

some of my navigation seems to have messed up too.. poooo.

anyway:

Contact staffs are generally long, at 1.5m / 5 foot, or slightly more or less. The longer the better really, as long as you can still spin it. (1.5m comes up to my chin, which is a good general guide for staff height). The length gives you a slower rotation and more room to do the contact move with.

Contact staffs are supposedly supposed to be heavier than "spinning" staffs. I don't really feel this is necessary. You do need some weight in order to help you feel the staff on your body, but not really more than medium wicks and steel tube is going to provide. All these fully cored contact staffs scare me, cos they're soooo heavy. It makes them hurt more when they hit you, and they're usually a lot faster due to the added weight. I wouldn't recommend it. (Fully cored is when wooden dowel is ran through the entire length of the metal tube making up the staff.)