Forums > Social Chat > When should one move on to fire poi?????

Login/Join to Participate

pHoTiKrBOImember
27 posts

Posted:
i really want to get into fire poi....it looks amazing, and no one in my area does it, So i wanna do it. But i dont know If i should cuz I am very scared that i might get injured. Im pretty good at glowstringing, can do almost every single move even btb weave...any ideas on when I should start fire poi?? or whether its a good idea?? or what to begin with?? thanks ahead of time

pHoTiK kReW!!!!!

Kristy-Leemember
26 posts

Posted:
Fire poi can be dangerous if you don't take precautions. Doing it with someone else makes it heaps safer, just keep and eye on each other make sure hair, shirts, or pants don't get set on fire, have a wet towel or water bucket close by is handy too. I've been doing poi and stick for over 5 years on and off and started off straight away on lit wicks, and I don't have any war stories, no injury's or anything, maybe a bit of hair burning, and a few bruises but nothing serious, but your poi are moving so fast they don't usually get a chance to catch you for too long anyhow (make sure you wear close fitting clothes and have your hair tied back)
Just get into it! Your have got to hear the flame as it passes by your head..oohhh it sounds great-as it whooshes past..happy twirling

Magickal_Kaleidoscopemember
119 posts

Posted:
fire poi's are fine just wear a long sleeve shirt and some jeans and a beanie or a bandanna.
the only injuries ive ever tried was doing wraps in shorts and short sleeved shirt.
then there was this one time with an attempted neck wrap but im not going to try that1 again

CharlesBRONZE Member
Corporate Circus Arts Entertainer
3,989 posts

Posted:
Phitokrboy, there's alot of info on the site here you should read through first. FAQ on fire safety

Best thing to do is practice with some non-glowstring poi's as well, so you get used to the different dynamics.