Forums > Help! > probably stupid question but...

Login/Join to Participate

kmcnewbie
4 posts

Posted:
Hi,
I'm quite new to this, bought a staff ages ago, but didn't really get into it, lighting etc until recently.
I'm using kerosene, cos well,its cheap and accessible but i'm finding the burn time really short. It feels only about 6-7 minutes before the flames begin to go quite low and i get paranoid about charring the wick..or basically screwing up my staff by leaving it to burn too long.
I'm pretty clueless about this all, i just want to know whats the best fuel, if i'm being paranoid, how long i should expect for burning times..or any useful tips so i can keep going as long as possible.
Probably a stupid question, but if theres any help, i'm a newbie, so i'd appreciate it!

BirgitBRONZE Member
had her carpal tunnel surgery already thanks v much
4,145 posts

Posted:
This is about wick care... should help you on smile

https://www.homeofpoi.com/articles/wick_care.php

"vices are like genitals - most are ugly to behold, and yet we find that our own are dear to us."
(G.W. Dahlquist)

Owner of Dragosani's left half

DentrassiGOLD Member
ZORT!
3,045 posts

Posted:
directly answering your concerns-

Written by:

It feels only about 6-7 minutes before the flames begin to go quite low and i get paranoid about charring the wick..or basically screwing up my staff by leaving it to burn too long.

although ive never timed it myself - 6-7 mins is actually quite long for a burn. ive seen smaller wicks that last for only about a minute.

charring the wick? well i never really bothered about the smoldering stuff that malcolm mentions in that link - i burn them at least once a week and my wicks always last over a year

hope that helps.
EDITED_BY: Dentrassi (1145839501)

"Here kitty kitty...." - Schroedinger.

Mr MajestikSILVER Member
coming to a country near you
4,696 posts

Posted: