Forums > Technical Discussion > Pregnant Fire Dancer Seeks Advice

Login/Join to Participate

BrightsparkSILVER Member
2 posts

Posted:

I've been spinning professionally for the past six years, and love it more than ever. I'm growing a fire spinner of my own at the moment (four months pregnant) and so limit my spinning to practice sets, and am taking a break from performing.

While basic common sense tells me that fumes from fuel cannot be good for me and are therefore best avoided while pregnant, I am trying to find further info on the long term effects of fume inhalation. My midwife (not surprisingly) wasn't sure what effect fumes would have on breast feeding. I have to choose between performing (making a living) and breastfeeding my baby. Fair enough - but it got me thinking. What will ten or twenty years of breathing fumes actually do to a girl?

I already have fire safety training, first aid training, risk assesment sheets for shows, MSDS for all fuel and equipment and I studied chemistry in uni. I'm wondering has anyone come across reports directly related to long term exposure to fumes, as ooposed the the safety info I already have. A brief scour of the internet didn't reveal much, but then - you're a clever bunch!!

Kind regards,

Emily
www.brightspark.ie

VampyricAcidSILVER Member
veteran
1,286 posts

Posted:
Im pretty sure this has been comvered in abother thread, but i couldnt find it, basically, stay away from kero/parafin, cant remember the science-y bit but im sure that was the advice given

Proudly Owned By The BMVC

Are You Sniffing My Mitten?

RicheeBRONZE Member
HOP librarian
1,841 posts

Posted:
I found three threads about it. You may stop fire for that

time.

[Old link]

[Old link]

[Old link]

Wish you nice time, healthy and beutifull child.

love and light,

:R

POI THEO(R)IST

newgabeSILVER Member
what goes around comes around. unless you're into stalls.
4,030 posts

Posted: