drvarietySILVER Member
75 posts

Posted:
So im fairly new at learning poi- and have a few questions-
1. I can do the butter fly in front and behind the head 9 outof 10 times, but the tenth time the two balls run into eachother and hit me in a quite unpleasant area- is there something i'm doing wrong or is this common for begginners?
2. I have been trying to figure out how to transition cork screw into three beat I assume most of you know how to do this, but some help wouldbe nice...

There is nothing to be afraid of. Virtual reality will eventually rehabilitate your mind and eventually your body. Everything will be allright, i promise. Just concentrate. Try some music.

SkulduggeryGOLD Member
Pirate Pixie Crew Captain
8,428 posts

Posted:
1. thats one of the most common complaints of new male spinners. You just have to keep practicing. It will stop happening in the end. Maybe wear a bit of protection down there for a while ubblol
2. I'm rubbish at explaining moves in Text so I'll let someone else tackle that answer.

welcome to HoP!

Feed me Chocolate!!! Feed me NOW!

onewheeldaveGOLD Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,252 posts

Posted:
There's plenty you can do to prevent excrutiating pain when doing the butterfly.

As with learning all moves, do it slowly- the slower the poi are moving the less pain they will cause when they go wrong, it will also lead to a much greater skill increase than doing them uncontrolably fast.

Secondly, practise (without poi) a tucking motion where you drop your face, hunch up and pull back your hips.

Then do this movement whenever you feel the butterfly is going wrong (again, it's easier to feel this when you're spinning slowly) and it protects your face/groin from injury.

"You can't outrun Death forever.
But you can make the Bastard work for it."

--MAJOR KORGO KORGAR,
"Last of The Lancers"
AFC 32

Educate your self in the Hazards of Fire Breathing STAY SAFE!

RyGOLD Member
Gromit's Humble Squire
4,496 posts

Posted: