Forums > Help! > Please Help, problem with cellType

Login/Join to Participate

sachindarenewbie
1 post

Posted:
Hello Friends,
I am new to Poi world. I am facing one problem.

My requirement is that I want a excel sheet in which format type of cells of first column should always be a Text. For other columns the format type may be general or numeric.
Why I require first columns format type as text, because when ever user is entering long number in excel it automatically converts that to scientific notation. Like if I entered value 123456789012 in cell it automatically becomes 1.23457E+11. I was programmatically creating Excel by using Poi.

I don’t want such behavior at least in first column of excel sheet. To avoid this, what I have done is instead of dynamically generating excel sheet I am keeping the predefined excel file and made its first column’s property as a Text. This approach is working fine for all cells in the first column except in which I am adding some value dynamically through program. Its type automatically becomes General from Text. But the cells in the first column which are empty are still showing me the property type as Text.
To overcome this I have used following code,

cell.setCellType(HSSFCell.CELL_TYPE_STRING);
HSSFCellStyle cellStyle = cell.getCellStyle();
cellStyle.setDataFormat(HSSFDataFormat.getBuiltinFormat("text"));

And for other cells in other column I am again setting type as cell.setCellType(CELL_TYPE_NUMERIC);

But what I observed is that now all cells type becomes Text. If I don’t use setDataFormat for first column and if only use setCellType, its type is not changing to text it remains to General only. I am using 2.5 version of Poi.

Can you please help me out from this problem?

Thanks and Regards,
Sachin Dare.

Suibomaddict
577 posts

Posted:
Uhmm...
3 bt weave?

No.. wait, I know the answer to this..

Bummerfly!!!

ubbloco