Forums > Technical Discussion > Fire Poi - Buying a set; any reccomendations?

Login/Join to Participate

DaizBRONZE Member
Radioactive Member
106 posts

Posted:
I'm wondering about the quality of Cathedral Twisted Oval Link fire poi. Is it good for speed? I'm aiming for a durable, fast, and awesome fire poi set, but my budget is around $100CAN. Any suggestions for good sets? I am not very experienced in fire poi, but I do know how to do poi with sandbags. I do not want to replace the set for over one year, so any suggestions?

I'm gonna cut you up so bad, you gonna wish I ain't cut you up so bad.

ImbalanceGOLD Member
not different, just not the same
263 posts

Posted:
i highly recommend either These or These

I personally use the first ones, though now I almost wish I had bought the second (my next purchase will deffinently be a monkeyfist).

Several reasons for my recommendations. These twisted oval link chains are EASY to un tangle (just pull and bounce a lil and presto they untangle). They don't catch/rip clothing. And the chains are very durable. HOP uses quality parts.

As for the wicks, I think the cathedrals are good for starting out. They aren't too heavy, and are a bit softer so you face/privates will be spared a bit of brusing (don't get me wrong though, it will still hurt when u get hit, just not as much as a monkey fist.)

Now that i've gotten a lot more advanced I want to get some monkey fist wicks as they tend to be a bit heavier and are a bit more aerodynamic. Have been experimenting with some friends monkeyfists and some moves just seem easier with them. They seem to just WANT to do Isolations and hyperloops much more than my cathedrals.

Many people on here will tell you to actually get a pair of socks (make your own or buy these from the hop shop). However I personally prefer to practice with my chains, though i may get some socks for working on some techy stuff at a later date.

Good luck and keep practicing.