daemanBRONZE Member
14 posts

Posted:
not sure if u all know this or not but im just getting started with poi and was looking into making some sock poi to start with but whilst out shopping i came up with the idea of usin dog toys as poi ive just got some an they are really good and really cheap.

nonenonenoneSILVER Member
129 posts

Posted:
nice idea! my first lot of 'poi' were literally some old long socks with a pair of socks rolled up in the end! hehe

Suibomaddict
577 posts

Posted:
Heh.. yeah, somewhere on this site is a post of a guy who's girlfriend used to get mad at him when they went shopping cause he would stop by the dog item aisle and start spinning dog toys :P.

Very amusing.

Definition of poi- A Hawaiian food made from the tuber of the taro that is cooked, pounded to a paste, and fermented.

Ahnold discussing poi - "It is naht a toober!"

GeoffonTour04SILVER Member
enthusiast
360 posts

Posted:
I use bits of dowel on string most of the time, same size as a glowstick.

FireByNiteSILVER Member
Are you up for it??
349 posts

Posted:
Written by: Suibom

Heh.. yeah, somewhere on this site is a post of a guy who's girlfriend used to get mad at him when they went shopping cause he would stop by the dog item aisle and start spinning dog toys :P.

Very amusing.

ubblol

Are you up for it?
wink;)

Fire Taigermember
105 posts

Posted:
you can tie a cut up old shirt or bath towel to the end of a dog chain with some bailing wire to make a nice cheap set of fire poi.

The quest for poi perfection may bring much enlightenment...
and burns
OOUUUUCCCHHHHIIIEEEEE!!!!!!!!!

StoutBRONZE Member
Pooh-Bah
1,872 posts

Posted:
you can tie a cut up old shirt or bath towel to the end of a dog chain with some bailing wire to make a nice cheap set of fire poi

HOWEVER. fire poi like this are going to throw off embers which make them a fire hazard for both the immediate environment and your audience, definitely not recommended.

Fire Taigermember
105 posts

Posted: