Forums > Social Chat > Downtime (What to do when you hit a plateau in practice)

Login/Join to Participate

Saskeahmember
43 posts

Posted:
I'm a juggler and a poi spinner, and I spend about four hours three times a week practicing. Since I have a really awful school schedule and I'm also a musician, I sometimes find it hard to always have things to practice, and oftentimes I find myself feeling disappointed if I haven't really worked on much in a while.

I'm sure that everyone gets this, I'm just wondering what everyone else does to conquer downtime.

Personally, for example, I've made lists of tricks that I want to work on from videos and stuff, so I don't run out of things that I want to do. I've also built new toys if I get stuck, or just work on technique or doing stuff with partners and jazz like that.

animatEdBRONZE Member
1 + 1 = 3
3,540 posts

Posted:
When I hit a plateau on a learning curve, I do a couple of things.

Try a different prop. when you're stuck on poi, try staff etc.

Go dance. If i've reached a plateau, I'll go clubbing. It helps remind me why I enjoy spinning or whatever it is I take with me so much.

Teach others. There's no feeling better than when you get someone else to do something they've been trying for ages!

hope that little list helps...

Empty your mind. Be formless, Shapeless, like Water.
Put Water into a cup, it becomes the cup, put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle, put water into a teapot, it becomes the teapot.
Water can flow, or it can Crash.
Be Water My Friend.

fNiGOLD Member
master of disaster
3,354 posts

Posted:
teaching others is a great way to go. Not only does it give you a chance to improve your skills, but the person you're teaching will more than likely spark some new ideas with questions like..what if you did ___.

another prop is also a good way to go.