Promethean_AdvocateBRONZE Member
35 posts

Posted:
Hi all,

Im new to both the sport and the boards, so sorry if this is a bit simplistic, but I cant seem to find what I need elsewhere on the forum. I'm after some basic instructions on the hand movement when spinning with one hand. The reason I ask is that a friend of mine suggests that when spinning the staff, it should roll over the back of the hand with each revolution. However when I looked at some of the instructional GIFs on this site, I noticed that the staff was gripped almost all the time. A quick experiment with this way just ended up with getting all twisted up. rolleyes So is there anywhere that has really basic, step-by-step instructions on the 'correct' or simplest movement?

Thanks a lot,

JD

Incendiary meditation

“Think not of the staff as being rigid, but of your mind as being that which is inflexible.”

strugzBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,964 posts

Posted:
There are many ways to spin a stick dude - your friends is right it can roll over the back of your hand each beat - however thats not simplistic wink

I havnt got any places i can point you but i can say that if you grip your staff in the middle with your thumb facing upwards.....

now follow the end your thumb is pointing at and draw a figure 8 pattern - your grip will change ever so slightly whilst you manouver but essentially your hand can remain in the same place - the looser you hold the stick the more movement you will allow it to have smile

Rigid arms and solid grips make for difficult spinning, relax and enjoy is my advise.

Hope it helps biggrin

"...We don't stop playing because we get old, we get old because we stop playing......."

MynciBRONZE Member
Macaque of all trades
8,738 posts

Posted:
All I can suggest is to look at the animated Gif's on Hop or find other staffers dude... as master strugz has said...there are many ways.