Forums > Social Chat > Poi gets you free beer, cash & attention from the opposite sex!

Login/Join to Participate

KatBRONZE Member
Pooh-Bah
2,211 posts

Posted:
Last night I was at a hanami party. For those of you who don't know about hanami, it translates as 'flower viewing' and involves groups of people gathering underneath the cherry blossom trees that bloom in mid-late April and getting completely wasted on alcohol. It is really good fun and we brought guitars and I brought my comet poi.So I started playing with the poi and what a reaction I got, people started clapping and cheering. One group of guys dragged me over to their group to perform for them and gave me \1000 (US$8), beer and chuhai, and yakimochi (grilled rice cakes) for a 2 minute performance.Result!!Another group of men dragged me over to their group and plied me with sake and the men were blowing kisses at me and asking for my number.(Dubious result!)And some really cute kids came up to me and gave me some sweets and shook my hand.(Heartwarming result!)Imagine the reaction if I had lit up. I've plenty of more hanami parties to go to, although I think after the attention I got last night I will refrain. I get approached enough by strangers as a gaijin (foreigner) as it is without being a performing one, and my boyfriend gets annoyed when people come up and try to talk to me cause I'm a gaijin.Anyhow, just thought I'd share and ask what kudo's playing with poi & staff, fire and whatnot have given you despite the obvious personal satisfaction and in my case confidence it gives. ------------------"London is a city coming down from its trip and there's going to be a lot of refugees" - Danny,Withnail & I

Come faeries, take me out of this dull world, for I would ride with you upon the wind and dance upon the mountains like a flame.

- W B Yeats

N8member
336 posts

Posted: