Forums > Social Discussion > Morality of eradicating harmful species.

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
jeff(fake)Scientist of Fortune
1,189 posts

Posted:
I've been studying parasites for the last three months now and I was wondering what peoples opinions were on the eradication of an entire species if it causes human or even animal hardship. There are loads of different factors in considering the morality. Is it acceptable to eradicate plasmodium, the parasite that causes malaria? It's only a single cell and doesn't even count as an animal so most people wouln't care. But would it be alright to wipe out it's vector, the mosquito (actually since sexual reproduction of the plasmodium occurs in the mosquito, humans are the vector to mosquitos in a strictly technical sense wink) What about wiping out a mammal species if it carried a disease or just a local population, like the growing momentum for a Badger cull in parts of Britain.

Is the eradication of a species wrong in general? How does it compare to the death of an individual? If a species could be eradicated without harming any of its members (by sterilisation or whatever) would it still be wrong? It's a lot of questions but since I may well be involved in this line of work in the future (although probably not the badger killing eek) I really want to know how it's percieved.

According to Heisenberg's Uncertainty Principle of Quantum Dynamics, we may already be making love right now...

BirgitBRONZE Member
had her carpal tunnel surgery already thanks v much
4,145 posts

Posted:
Didn't you say the other day that 2/3 of species are parasitic in some way? I doubt eradicating them all would be a good idea...

Now, I can't see any good to come from plasmodium, since it harms humans it doesn't keep down the mosquito population either... but surely some parasites would seriously upset the natural balance if eradicated?