screwbydoonewbie
4 posts

Posted:
hey,

i'm just a newbie trying to make practice poi. i want to use chains with tennis balls so when i actually want to switch to fire i'll be used to the weight of chains. so i'm wondering once i get the chain through the ball, how do i secure it? do i just stick some large thing metal connector or something on the other end to keep it from slipping back through the ball or is there some better way?

thelostSILVER Member
mmm...i feel all warm and fuzzy... 'no dude, that's your hair on fire'
355 posts

Posted:
well...this probably isn't gonna be useful advice to u for making the poi, but it's more about what you're trying to make.

if u had just tennis balls on the ends of chains, the weight distribution would be more along the chain than at the head of the poi (unless u filled the tennis balls with weights as well), meaning it'd be even stranger to spin than fire poi and even normal poi.

i'm sure other people can add their advice to really help you though

It's better to burn out than to fade away

*HyperLightBRONZE Member
old hand
1,174 posts

Posted:
@screwbydoo: I've got a washer with a nail across it. The chain loops around the nail. Kind of hard to explain, but what you're suggesting should work; Something like a nail glued to the end of your chain should work.

@TheLost: That really depends on how heavy your chain is! Mine's very light so all the weight is in the tennis ball / wick.

Cake or Death?

pricklyleafSILVER Member
with added berries
1,365 posts

Posted:
Personally, I think its a bit of a myth about needing practice poi the same weight as fire poi, unless you are doing something really technical that relies on the weight of the poi being a certain amount, it doesnt really matter. When you get your fire poi, after spinning them unlit for 5-10 minutes you will be complealty used to the weight. People worry about it way too much, when it takes no time at all to adjust to weight differences.