DeToXnewbie
2 posts

Posted:
Hello! I have been practicing for over 2 months... And I feel as if i'm ready to light... But, i'm curious to what do I use to light it? Do I use a special type of maybe oil or something? Thanks for your help! smile

-Rocky

PhilomelSILVER Member
39 posts

Posted:
Try reading this article about fuel types, as well as the fire safety section and fire guides.

After two months of learning and practice, I'd say you probably have enough skills to do fire poi (weaves, butterflies, windmills, etc.) Good luck and let us know how it goes! smile

VampyricAcidSILVER Member
veteran
1,286 posts

Posted:
Never Spin Alone!

im sure its in the fire safety guide, but it sounds like you've been practicing alone, and its dangerous to spin fire alone, always have a spotter or 2 jsut to make sure your havent ignited yourself! Parafin is the best thing to use due to its high flash point and clean burn. and do things you're comfortable with, thats one of the most important things.

have you tried spinning with your fire poi without lighting them? because the weight will probabily be very different to whatever you have been using so far, so get some practice in with them first, and most of all, have fun!

Proudly Owned By The BMVC

Are You Sniffing My Mitten?

Sporkyaddict
663 posts

Posted:
Just relax. Most people tend to get scared the first time they spin with fire. Start off with the moves that you are most comfortable with for the first few spins.

Have faith in what you can do and respect for what you can't

pricklyleafSILVER Member
with added berries
1,365 posts

Posted:
If you know someone who already does fire poi to show you what to do then that would be ideal. If there is noone in your area, or no burn nights that you could go to even as a one off to light up for the first time with someone who knows what they are doing, then make sure you read up on the topic fully, as fire spinning is dangerous.