AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
i was wondering what you guys beieve to be the best way to treat a burn. I have been playing with fire for many years now and have never really gotton anything more than a light smudge. I have studied first aide and treatment recommendations and have even been to hospitals and spoken with emt's and doctors on the subject.EVERYONE HAS HAD A DIFFERANT OPINION!! So I am asking you guys out there that may have some experiance. My daughter recently burned her hands while in the care of her sitter!! She had second and third degree burns.It was a traumatic experiance to me as i believe the body should be left to do what it does... heal itself, with little intervention from some nasty New Orleans hospital...They made it worse, mainly because there was alot of people in one room with many varied opinions.They even gave her a LARGE DOSE of ketamine, it was horrible. I have helped my friends who have burned themselves in the past.We always allowed it to breath, kept it clean and treated the skin with aloe or a salve to keep it moist while healing.I am really curious to hear about your burn treatment stories...

KatBRONZE Member
Pooh-Bah
2,211 posts

Posted:
I have never burned myself while playing with fire but I have burned myself on other occasions. I burned my hand quite badly with boiling water a while back and immediately ran my hand under running water to numb the skin and then kept an ice pack on it for most of the afternoon.Then I put a salve on it and left it uncovered.If it had blistered though I would have bandaged it and possible sought medical treatment.I hope your daughter is better now.Kat------------------"London is a city coming down from its trip and there's going to be a lot of refugees" - Danny,Withnail & I

Come faeries, take me out of this dull world, for I would ride with you upon the wind and dance upon the mountains like a flame.

- W B Yeats

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted: