Forums > Beginner Staff Moves > Question about fire staff wicks:

Login/Join to Participate

ThumperabbitBRONZE Member
Zebberdy and Jack Daniels
278 posts

Posted:
Hello all! I'm very new to fire staffs. infact i don't own one at this point in time, i got a metal curtain rail with 2 sponges sticky taped to either side as padding. Anyway, to the point, i'm getting a proper fire staff for christmas(ain't mum's great), and i want to know what kind of wick i need, i've checked this site and i see wick that come's in strips, is this the right one, or is there a wick especialy made for fire staffs?

The only reason i'm scared of little kid's is because I know in ten year's time they'll be mugging me.....

TheApprovingNinjaFrom the Ashes of a Ninja Rise THE HIPS OF RAGE
371 posts

Posted:
The wick you want is called kevlar it comes in strips.

If you're mums getting you one I'd recomend going to Oddballs in London and getting a steve staff or getting one from tePooka toys https://www.tepookatoys.com
(insert shameless self promotion), the ones off this site are good too.

Always make sure that you get kevlar wicks sometimes if you get them in thailand they make them out of asbestos which is not nice.

If you are making your own there's loads of articles about on construction. Which are easy to find by doing a serach for them.

Good luck

Viva UGLY STAFF

278 posts

Posted:
ok, and will i need to buy the kevlar threat aswell?

The only reason i'm scared of little kid's is because I know in ten year's time they'll be mugging me.....

Fine_Rabid_DogInternet Hate Machine
10,530 posts

Posted:
Go to oddballs. Get a steve staff. They are nice. (Don't be told otherwise wink )

Bssically what ApprovingNinja said smile

The existance of flamethrowers says that someone, somewhere, at sometime said "I need to set that thing on fire, but it's too far away."

SeyeSILVER Member
Geek
1,261 posts

Posted: