Mr MajestikSILVER Member
coming to a country near you
4,696 posts

Posted:
ok, so i'm in my final year of school, i've got about 7 weeks left, and i'm studing pretertiary art. I do photography and instead of sitting an exam at the end of the year we have to submit a 3000 word essay which somehow relates to our own work. however, i haven't bee able to find any other artists who have produced work like mine, and the teachers haven't really found any either.

So, do you think this sort of means that the art course i am studing infact surpresses your will to use your 'creative' streak? that in fact they are inadvertantly influencing you to simply produce more of the same?

its really annoying, i've got heaps of work to do before i finish and having no idea what i can do about this situation is pretty stressful.

"but have you considered there is more to life than your eyelids?"

jointly owned by Fire_Spinning_Angel and Blu_Valley

_Clare_BRONZE Member
Still wiggling
5,967 posts

Posted:
No, it just means you have to try harder than the rest to come up with your concept.

Nothing is new, after all smile

Good luck hug

Getting to the other side smile

pricklyleafSILVER Member
with added berries
1,365 posts

Posted:
I agree, inspiration comes from somewhere, I'm going to do a project about imagination and how if we imagine something it becomes real in a way. I won't find other artists who have produced the same work as me but I already can think of a few where small aspects are similar.

They probably don't want you to find similar work, just work where there is a common aspect or theme, even if a small link. It doesn't nessarily have to be photography, it could be anything. I think studying the work of other artists is vital when studying art, particulary in the earlier stages of the career, such as at school and uni, as it helps you to develop a language, mainly a visual language, but also a verbal one, that is essential to produce good work.

What is your work like?