Forums > Social Chat > For the Docs: Joints popping question

Login/Join to Participate

i8beefy2GOLD Member
addict
674 posts

Posted:
No, not those joints... smile

Im 22. Over the past year I've had an increasingly annoying condition develop that I don't know if I should worry about or not... Namely, my joints seem to be cracking more and more often from common movement. I wouldn't be too worried, but I've just developed one in my right elbow as well, after having started lifting weights again. My right elbow now pops several times a day. There is no pain involved, perhaps a little preasure that feels good to relieve by popping it (like cracking my knuckles, something I do all the time). In addition to this, my THUMBS of all things have this annoying habit of doing something similar. If my hand remains motionless for a few minutes (every morning when I wake up, this happens) as soon as I move them, they pop.

Now, given that I have been spinning staff now for four years, and that I recently started some light lifting (25 lb dumbells, not really overdoing it for my size, and I gradually worked my way up from 15s... used to do 25s all the time), I was wondering if perhaps this is some kind of repetitive motion injury, or if I am damaging my joints or anything.

Also, I have been a vegetarian for about 7 years, don't eat as well as I should perhaps, and only take vitamins and protein shakes occasionally (maybe once or twice a week). Could it be nutritional? What might I want to add to my diet to promote good joints?

The thumb cracking has gotten a bit worrisome. None of this is painful mind you, in fact the popping feels good, but I don't want to go blowing out any joints already at this age. smile

MiGGOLD Member
Self-Flagellation Expert
3,414 posts

Posted: