Page:
dromepixieveteran
1,463 posts

Posted:
I'm just wondering why technological aspects of society continue to be male dominated areas... By this I am reffering mainly to IT and engineering areas...

I have many friends who are into computers and ALL are male. Most of my girlfriends have never installed windows let alone thought about opening a computer...

So why is it that we women generally avoid technology??? Is it because of nature or nurture? Are we afraid of entering a male dominated society or have we been coaxed into this by societal rules and sterotypes?????

I dont really have an opinion on this! I am just curious!

So go on tell me what you think...

[edit]

BTW I'm not very good at making new threads... frown

[edit]

huggles to all,

kels

EDITED_BY: dromepixie (1126203415)

JUGGLEwithyourmind!

simian110% MONKEY EVERY TIME ALL THE TIME JUST CANT STOP THE MONKEY
3,149 posts

Posted:
cool topic smile

But in Social Chat?

i'd have popped it in Social Discussion myself, as there'll be less crap jokes\ironic sexism rolleyes

hug

"Switching between different kinds of chuu chuu sometimes gives this "urgh wtf?" effect because it's giving people the phi phenomenon."

flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
I don't think it's just IT, I think it's technology jobs in general, including repair work, installations (phone lines etc), electricians, plumbers, carpenters etc that have traditionally been male jobs.

You do certainly get some women in engineering jobs that are very successful and good at what they do, however in my experience you tend to get a much larger percentage of men in such jobs that do it because they have an interest in the area outside of their work, as opposed to choosing it purely as a way of earning a living.