truespinnewbie
22 posts

Posted:
Hiya, I've been twirling for a couple of months now (since the Glade festival in the UK...) and have been making do with what is essentially a log/stick that is too thick, heavy and not quite perfectly balanced (but has done me proud for the time being) - so am on the look out for my first staff.
I have searched the forum and found answers to many of my questions already - but just want to ask you guys opinions of my plans:
Thought I may as well buy a firestaff from the off - so I get used to the weight, timing etc. of it and stick some socks over the wicks until I am proficient (and brave) enough to use fire.
I've had a look at a few of the UK's online purveyors of juggling/staffy things trying to work out what I want.
At first I thought it would be the basic medium wood core firestaff from firetoys (https://www.firetoys.co.uk/juggling/Medium_length_firestaffs.html) but since they're out of stock at the moment I'm thinking of something else...
I've read some rave reviews of tepooka staffs but they seem to be light-weight aluminium and I was thinking a wood one might be more what I'm looking for - am *just* starting playing with some contact stuff and reasonably regularly drop the staff...
OR - I could go the other way and get one of those beautiful concentrate 3-part staffs (just been paid biggrin, it would be much easier to transport/take to festivals and they *are* in stock) - is this appropriate for a first staff, would I just break this in days/weeks and not get the benefit of this fine staff?
I'm 5'8" and my current staff/stick/log comes up to my chin and this seems like quite a nice length - any opinions...
Cheers,
/truespin

UCOFSILVER Member
15,417 posts

Posted:
These are quite good as you can break them down into 3 peices. Email Malcolm for more information.