Forums > Technical Discussion > What's your fav wick design amd why?

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
Stick ManBRONZE Member
37 posts

Posted:
This is a personal preference poll. What’s you favorite wick design and why?

Cathedrals are my favorite wick design because of the flame intensity you get with them. I’m making a 4” by 7” set right now that should throw a pretty big flame. I like big heavy heads you can slow down and that burn so big you have people saying HOLY [censored] before you start spinning.devil
I’ve never burned with monkey fist wicks or hybrids before. And I don’t like the exposed metal on most tube core wicks. And even though rolled wicks are what I learned with and are also great if you like spinning fast. Since I started to use cathedrals I find them to be too light.

I ain't been around the world, but I've been around the block. I ain't seen everything, but I've seen enough to talk. I'm not a prophet, I'm not the 2nd comming of christ. I'm just a mason with a will to build and a little advice.

kashGOLD Member
Dangerous cynic
166 posts

Posted:
 Written by: ma'tina

so what exactly do you reckon is hard on doing moves with monkey fists???

I'm not going to try to speak for Dster, but I find that heavy poi have more inertia, they stay beautifully in their planes, but they resist moving from the plane. This makes some moves, like say flowers, easier because they are more forgiving, little wobbles in plane control dissapear, however other moves that require you to alter their path take a bit more oomph!

_Clare_BRONZE Member
Still wiggling
5,967 posts

Posted:
I can understand that... but, like any different poi, I think it just takes a bit of practice to get used to a new set smile

Using your hips and body movement to give the poi that bit more oomph and momentum helps...

But, it's all poi at the end of the day smile

Best wishes for the new year x

Getting to the other side smile

kashGOLD Member
Dangerous cynic
166 posts

Posted: