TeaCupnewbie
4 posts

Posted:
I just need advice on linking moves together. I just started Poi about 2 weeks ago and can do moves like the weave, butterfly, corkscrew, windmill and I can do some reels and carrys.
But everytime I do a move I stop the poi spinning then start a new move. It doesn't look that great >_>
So anyone got any advice on how to make my moves flow? biggrin

JerryDSILVER Member
136 posts

Posted:
I am new to poi as well, about 3 weeks I guess. My advice is to spin a lot and just experiment. Throw those poi around see how they move and where you can go with them. When I spin I spend a lot of time trying to spin cleanly but then I will also spend time just screwing around and seeing what happens. I have kind of lucked into linking a lot of things together.

I have read some descriptions of specific links, but they just ended up being more confusing than helpful. Oh, also, watch the video clips that are available. They are a great resource.

Have fun!
weavesmiley

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage

DrudwynForget puppy power, Scrappy's just gay
632 posts

Posted:
The simplest way of linking the wave to the windmill is via the fountain (3 beat forwards to 3 beat reverse low, then back the otherway high, by which time the poi will be at the 1st beat stage of the windmill, so you can enter into it exceptionally easily) and you can enter the corkscrew by either gently angling a windmill downwards by 90 degrees so rather than spinning in front behind, it's spinning below above.

I just tend to spin a 3 beat weave before changing the plane of my poi by forcefully making them go from the wall planes (at my sides) to the floor/ceiling planes. It's the just throw it! technique of changing planes...