Forums > Technical Discussion > Chainmaille Poi (Armored Raven, Enchantress, Lurch!?)

Login/Join to Participate

Julie2022member
145 posts

Posted:
Maille or chainmail - however you want to spell it.

Ok, I'm going to make my fire poi out of maille - I was actually thinking of wrapping my wick with maille and making a mailled strap for them with leather loops.

What are the dos and don'ts of metals - I will be using stainless, probably 14 gauge, maybe 12 (If I can even work it). Should I use something else? Secure the ends with jb weld if I use butted rings - I suppose I could get riveted if I want to from Knuut.

What wick to get? stacked, monkey fist, the type that's shaped like a cylinder? (take in mind, I'm also a beginner, I'm petit w/ short arms - if that affects the head you use.)

Any suggestions? thankx

"I'm your Huckleberry."

The muse spake her thought and then there was silence. Thy spiked tongue had melted, only a bitter heart remained.

TheBovrilMonkeySILVER Member
Liquid Cow
2,629 posts

Posted:
I don't reckon that wrapping wicks with mail is a great idea to be honest, unless you're just planning to make covers for the wicks that are only used when you're not spinning the poi.

They'll add a fairly hefty amount of weight and more importantly, it's the metal parts of the poi that burn you when they're lit - the metal transfers heat to your skin far quicker than the wick, which doesn't actually conduct heat all that well. So, hitting yourself with a metal wrapped wick will almost certainly leave you with some rather interesting and probably painful burns.

Mailled handles would look pretty damned good though, as long as they didn't have any mail anywhere that would rub against skin, I imagine that would get very painful very quickly.

I'd certainly use welded links over rivetted ones - anything that might increase the chances of the chain snagging on something is a bad idea.