phoenix_keikanewbie
6 posts

Posted:
I'm new to poi and even newer to staff twirling, so I'll throw this out there: I'd like to pick up staff as well as the poi that I'm already doing, so whats the fastest, easiest, cheapest way to make a staff? Do they need weights on both ends? Or should I just go find myself a broomstick biggrin

[noodles]*Property of Pigeon Wigeon*
893 posts

Posted:
Well If you want it easy then yeah a broom stick with some grip stuck in the middle will do. Common grip is usually tennis racquet style. Or old innertube wound tight and taped down also works well.
I built my own staff to practice with out of some 3/4 inch chrome tubing (look in the shower and curtain rail sections at a hardware store) and some 18mm wooden dowel at the same length. Then I put some foam bike grips on the ends (padding) and in the middle. Works a treat and then you can fit wick at a later date when you get more confident.

Could somebody stop the room please... I'd like to get off

strugzBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,964 posts

Posted:
ditto

broom handles cost £1 - you can put tennis balls on the end for a bit of balance also smile

"...We don't stop playing because we get old, we get old because we stop playing......."

Matty_BSILVER Member
veteran
1,314 posts

Posted:
would go with the broom handle and tennis balls for super cheap, the rails you buy from supermarkets are quite expensive for what they are £5-6 from BandQ in the UK for a 4ft length...

If you have a metal merchant near, it is worth popping in and having a look at what they have, they will sell you a tube for a lot less if they have one....

You should be able to get old bike inner tubes from a local bike shop for free too if you want to make it uber cheap...

Intalamember
86 posts

Posted: