Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Simple explanation of wraist wraps?

Login/Join to Participate

SassfireGOLD Member
15 posts

Posted:
Ok...im kinda new to poi twirling (though I can pretty much do everything in the HOP lessons except the Behind Back weave) and ive been looking at different threads and tring to understand what all these moves are that people mention. I have done a search but I could not find a SIMPLE answer to what the basics movements of a wraistwrap are. Anyone can help? (A link to a video of one would be good too so i could visualise it?)

By the way...Hi everyone! wave
After reading many threads all i can say is that i have a lot learn!

Burn like a good bonfire.

Puresockaddict
406 posts

Posted:
The video that Orbit posted halfway down this thread is very very helpful when trying to understand what waistwraps really are.

[Old link]

And read this:
[Old link]

It's a real, real pain to describe without using lots of complex terms. See if those threads help - I'll have a read through them and see if I can describe it better and post it if I can.

"Take that, math!"

pricklyleafSILVER Member
with added berries
1,365 posts

Posted:
There are different versions of the waistwrap, the most basic ones (but not nessacarily easy!) are the half waist wrap, the behind the back (BTB) half waist wrap and the full waist wrap. They look like the poi are pivoting around your waist whilst in the wall plane. A beginner can probably achieve the half waistwrap, but you can only do the other two if you are able to dislocate your sholders and stick your arms on at funny angles! wink.

The half waist wrap consists of;

2 beat weave forwards
weave turn (non-turning turn)
2 beat weave backwards
carry turn

you do it by;

do a normal two beat weave with your left hand crossing over your right.
turn your feet and head 90 degrees to the right, keeping your torso and poi facing in the same direction, so the poi are now in the wall plane.