Stalkernewbie
17 posts

Posted:
Now..Im still kinda young (As far as the world is concerned.). At 17, I still live with my parents. Depressing as it may be, it's the cold, hard and unfortunate truth. Im fairly new to Poi, and the other day I was practicing in the front garden. My mum said, "Just be careful, that looks quite dangerous..". I felt like replying with "Just wait til I try this with them on fire.", but chuckled to myself instead, and continued practicing. Now..I didn't actually realise this, but my mum had no idea about what I was actually doing, and what I eventually plan to do (Set my poi on fire.). She found out a day ago, and since hasn't really talked to me. Earlier on today she had an argument, whereby she told me I wasn't to set them on fire because of the dangers involved.

Now...a little background information. My mum is notoriously over-protective. Everything, according to her, is dangerous. Hell, she's right, walking out the feckin' door is dangerous, you could fall down the stairs and break your neck. Sure, spinning fire might appear more dangerous..but still.

At 17, I think Im old enough to be making decisions about what I do with my free time? I've always been fairly independant, and absolutely hate being told what and what not to do, especially by someone who if I listened to them, I'd simply be holed up in my bedroom all day, every day, for fear of "dangers". In past cases, I've stood my ground and pulled through. She didn't stop me picking up Parkour, despite ranting on about how dangerous it is. I've been practicing Parkour for a year now, and have never seriously injured myself, despite what my resident "danger expert" may have believed.. I want to try convince her that Poi isn't as stupid an idea as she seems to think it is, and that I'd be responsible about the whole thing. Hell, I shouldn't have to tell her that..I've been ahead of my years on the maturity front for ages.