the happy manmember
37 posts

Posted:
hello,

ive been spinning for about 6 months and i want to get some fire poi. ive seen fire snakes and i think they look like a cool idea,

are they different to spinning normal fire poi?

can anyone who owns or has spun fire poi give me some advice please?

thanks

chris

"were all in uniforms here and dont you forget it" Mr Zappa

animatEdBRONZE Member
1 + 1 = 3
3,540 posts

Posted:
Fire ropes or snakes look well cool, But the flames are a bit scary cos they're huge!!

You can be limited on moves such as tangles with ropes because of the thickness, and lack of weight on the end (again, depends which ones)

I would say get some normal fire poi first, and then get some ropes.

Empty your mind. Be formless, Shapeless, like Water.
Put Water into a cup, it becomes the cup, put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle, put water into a teapot, it becomes the teapot.
Water can flow, or it can Crash.
Be Water My Friend.

juusanSILVER Member
39 posts

Posted:
ABSOLUTELY get your fire poi first. have you ever actually spun fire before? it would probably be better for you to get used to fire without having it be so huge and close to your body.

..·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸ ><((((º>

These are the roots of rhythm
And the roots of rhythm remain

the happy manmember
37 posts

Posted:
yeah ive spun fire before, i use fire devil sticks so im used to the fire and i do some fire breathing, i respect what im dealing with.

the main problem is money cos if i buy little poi im prob gonna want something bigger and i havnt got the cash,

so its kinda like one or the other so im not sure.

what dyu think?

"were all in uniforms here and dont you forget it" Mr Zappa

juusanSILVER Member
39 posts

Posted:
maybe get a set of heftier wicks for your first set? I'd still recommend poi before snakes. smile

..·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸ ><((((º>

These are the roots of rhythm
And the roots of rhythm remain

JauntyJamesSILVER Member