Forums > Social Chat > What's your favourite Heckle :)

Login/Join to Participate

ZauberdachSometimes sword wofter
199 posts

Posted:
Ever since the stone circle at Glastonbury this year and my heckling experience with a small crew of Hoppers I've become a heckling additic. No spinning experience is complete for me now without a few rounds of "constructive performance inhancing heckling." Indeed just the other night out spinning with my friends a bout of inspired heckling led to a full on Sumo-wrestling-camp-off with fire.

However I'm relatively new to this whole heckling thing, so I would like to hear from some experienced hecklers out there to gain some insite into this rare and beautiful skill. Because it is a skill. For the perfect heckle has to be many things. To be funny and yet to make a serious point, to critise and yet not offend, to be specific but yet not relevant... (insert more rambling on the virtue of heckling).

IMPORTANT: Any views or opinions are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of a sane person.

"just get the f**k on with it and make me the anti-christ already!"

SebPenguin of Mass Destruction and Tricky Bugger to the court of Claire the Askew
643 posts

Posted:
It increases audience to performer and the other way around too communication, which has to be a good thing for entertainment value, and jogs the one performing out of any sort of monotony they might have going in a bad situation by engaging their thinking muscles, thereby countering the possible (though by no means certain to happen) stagnating aspects of having a routine. And it can be wicked funny. biggrin
Like a heap of things I thionk it's situation dependant. My best ever heckling match had the exchange "Why don't you give me a break?"
"Neck'd be a favourite,"
"Can I choose the neck?" in it, any line of which wouldn't work out of context.

Chucks nuns
Property of mynci and blu_valley, and proud of it.

NoddyToe Poking Bad Boy
2,865 posts

Posted: