Forums > Help! > Fire safest clothes

Login/Join to Participate

TiituSILVER Member
6 posts

Posted:
Hello! I am scared of fire!! eek I am scared to lose my long hair or my long flashes. I wouldn't like to risk. But I love poi. I have been doing poi for last 4 years and I would say I'm pretty good. I have been doing with fire few times during last months. Sometimes I have been so nervous that I have started to make mistakes that make me even more nervous. I like led light poi a lot, but it never looks as good as fire and they are always too heavy or too light.

I just would like to find the safest way to do fire poi. I don't care if the clothes are stupid if they are safe. I read an article of safe materials and I am confused. Natural material burn fast, but are better to use than slowly burning materials? I didn't really get... I'd like to know in practise which kind of clothes are the safest? Jeans, college made of 100% cotton? And somewhere they say it is good to make clothes a bit wet but in the other place that never use water with fire poi... confused At the moment I cover my hair with Nomex cap and a hood of my college...looks silly, but makes me feel a bit safer.

Fire makes me upset and excited at the same time. I know it is good to be respectful with fire, but it is not good to be so scared as me... redface I know there aren't 100% safe way to do with fire, but I'd like to feel as safe as possible.

.:star:.SILVER Member
Pooh-Bah
1,785 posts

Posted:
There is a very helful article about this

https://www.homeofpoi.com/articles/Firesafety-Clothing.php

although this might be the article you have already read. biggrin

try downloading Malcolm and Peles safety video. It has lots of great info in it

https://www.homeofpoi.com/articles/firesafetyvideo.php#Backyard

Generally jeans are good, a cotton jumper and a hat to protect your hair. Nothing fluffy or baggy!
EDITED_BY: .:star:. (1118440537)

pricklyleafSILVER Member
with added berries
1,365 posts

Posted: