Forums > Social Discussion > why the hell are all these untalented fire dancers trying to teach ppl

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
joshthejugglerMember
1 post

Posted:
this disgusts me i have been doing fire performances for 8 years and and now all thes ppl who have been doing poi when there bored a few times a mnth are lighting up and thinking they can teach ppl / what the hell happen to the old days when you apprenticed someone with fire not a [censored] social gather if u want to learn pay ur dues . when i started i didnt even touch fire until after a year of training now it seems that every one and there brother thinks they can spin and blow fire hmmm maybe thats why u need so much safety info cuz they dont know what they are doing .the people who are serious performers and have been for years and make a living off of this stuff knows what im talking about.tips and tricks should only be shared through an appretinceship

hehehe howdy

rowanleemember
99 posts

Posted:
I occasionally teach, though I consider myself a novice for sure. In fact, I will always be a novice at this art! ;-) And more often than not, I teach kids, cause they are so much crazy fun , completely in the moment. I love to get them started on something as special as poi.

I am not a big fan of the Master's only teaching concept. I dont think we always need to look at skill sets, or learning, in a disciplined heirarchical way. Sometimes that is where the ego really lies, and it is just intimidating for some people. It is worth considering what the student actually wants out of the expereince. Some people thrive in one teaching environment, some in another...