Forums > Social Discussion > why the hell are all these untalented fire dancers trying to teach ppl

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
joshthejugglerMember
1 post

Posted:
this disgusts me i have been doing fire performances for 8 years and and now all thes ppl who have been doing poi when there bored a few times a mnth are lighting up and thinking they can teach ppl / what the hell happen to the old days when you apprenticed someone with fire not a [censored] social gather if u want to learn pay ur dues . when i started i didnt even touch fire until after a year of training now it seems that every one and there brother thinks they can spin and blow fire hmmm maybe thats why u need so much safety info cuz they dont know what they are doing .the people who are serious performers and have been for years and make a living off of this stuff knows what im talking about.tips and tricks should only be shared through an appretinceship

hehehe howdy

Sir Nuggit....is a liability
899 posts

Posted:
Hi Josh

I've clocked up about a years-worth of spinning (over two and a half years) and haven't even really thought about dancing with fire yet.

Admittedly I'd love to, but I want to perfect my techniques and learn all there is to learn (or as much as I can learn) before playing with fire (see what I did there?? ubblol )

From what I've seen thus far, I haven't been badgered in to taking it up before I'm ready, nor do I know anyone who's gone in to it without proper prep-work.

Although, I was at Reading Festival a few years ago (where I was bitten by the poi bug) and I was there practicing my weave when a guy sparked up his fire poi. All my friends were sitting around and the next thing we knew, my girlfriend at the time went up in flame (more my jumper did!!) because the guys hadn't shaken off the paraffin properly! Needless to say, it opened my eyes to the dangers a little - hence the hesitation.