boardiesBRONZE Member
40 posts

Posted:
Bonj!

Can anyone give me some advice? I've been poiing for about two months now. I now have fire poi and use those whenever I'm outdoors, even to practice so I get the weighting right. But I'm after a new pair of material poi. My first pair are falling apart - they're also, to be honest really crap as I had no idea what I was lookig for. The cord gets twisted after about a minute of spinning so I'm constantly having to stop and untwist. The tails are really short and rather than two of them there are about 6 or seven stringy tails AND all the beans are falling out. Can anyone recommend a really good pair of longlasting material poi that will suit me even if I improve a fair bit, ones that will last me a while?

Also - what's the go on glow poi. Can I by heads and just detatch and attach different heads? Which ones does anyone reckon? I want them for when it's windy and rainy and for when my fuel runs out.

One final thing, I promise - I'm a bit confused by types of fuel. I have read that lighter fuel is fine to use and that lighter fuel is far too flammable to use - which one is it. As I'm using pure lighter fuel at the mo as I can't find parrafin anywhere!

Sorry if I bored you! But thanks!

Boardies xxx.

flidBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,136 posts

Posted:
dude, there's been over 50,000 threads on this board, many asking the same questions as these. Please, please, please run a search

nearly_all_goneSILVER Member
Pooh-Bah
1,626 posts

Posted:
Also, try looking in the shop to see what's available. ie detachable glo heads etc

Lighter fuel's a bit poo, try using white spirits if you can't find paraffin, although it burns a little hotter and less brightly. Paraffin really is the king.

What a wonderful miracle if only we could look through each other's eyes for an instant.
Thoreau

SkulduggeryGOLD Member
Pirate Pixie Crew Captain
8,428 posts

Posted:
Ok here is a quick idea from me