Forums > Social Discussion > What IS it about the CIRCLES?!

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
Gnarly CraniumSILVER Member
186 posts

Posted:
I am an absolute rank beginner. I have two hacky sacks on the ends of strings with knots and hairties. After much study of the video clips available here and bits from books elsewhere, and a few attempts, I think I have acheived something that might be a butterfly, and I can keep it up for maybe 30 seconds before the balls hit each other (or my face, or the wall, or my bed, or the ceiling fan, or the table, or the bookcase, or the stack of boxes in the corner, or my clothes hamper.... did I mention I'm trying this in 4'x4' of cleared floor space in a sea of clutter?) and tangle and come untied and fly around the room and get lost. I've only seen poi in person twice. I don't know anyone who does it. There's nowhere in my town to buy them or get training. I've only been trying this and studying it for a couple weeks.

So why the hell was I up at 4am this morning unable to sleep cause I keep having weird dreams about spinning???

Despite total brokeness, I've ordered a fuzzy pair and some videos and a book from HoP, and I swear to god I'm going to lose my mind in the 2 weeks it's going to take them to get here. My room is way too small and full of furniture to do this stuff, and I'm too embarassed to try it in the back yard, there's just chain link fence and the neighbors will think I've started some odd crazy masochistic thing whacking myself with little colored balls. But my fingers ITCH.

What the heck is going on here?? Are aliens beaming loopy messages into my brain or what?!

And whatever it is, it apparently ain't just me!!