Page:
FireKittenSILVER Member
17 posts

Posted:

Is it humanly possible in poi to impress your friends after three weeks of practising from scratch? I want some simple yet effective move ideas that I can learn fairly quickly. Thankyou hunni bunni spinni winnies! angel

xX Twist and twirl to trance and techno Xx

Wonder MonkeyBRONZE Member
Certainly confused
121 posts

Posted:
Hello wavehello

i dont see why not.

I think, as long as you can do the moves pretty cleanly, then people who cant do anything will be impressed - if they aint offer them to try and see how quickly they come a cropper biggrin

Perhaps working on a short routine of the the things you know well is the way to go?

Im new to Poi also and my friends are pretty impressed whenever I do something new - mainly because they cant, so there's a kinda 'awe' element involved - particualrly when doing reverse.

But then I only can do a handful of moves, and have no idea what soem people here are going on about when they talk about moves - they speak the language of experience, and I dont have enough of that behind me yet.

Either way, good luck smile

My Mummy Says Im Special

bounce ubbloco bounce

spritieSILVER Member
Pooh-Bah
2,014 posts

Posted:
I would say learn how to transition (go from one move to the next) well. If you look like you know what you are doing, then people who have never seen poi will be impressed. It doesn't take a whole lot of speed or fancy moves to accomplish that.

DuncGOLD Member
playing the days away
7,263 posts

Posted:
weave

windmill

butterfly

corkscrew

turning

stalls

Make them work together and you're sorted.

and to impress those who've never seen fire spinning just go really quick, for everyone I've spun for who hasn't seen it the look of wow on their faces when it appears to be more dangerous always comes during the very short fast parts.

Sorted. biggrin

Let's relight this forum ubblove

Disc0annoying boy
160 posts

Posted: