Heronnewbie
3 posts

Posted:
Hey I'm new to this whole site. I am a great staff enthusiast (I use a heavy wooden bo staff 6') and currently go to a taekwondo school that allows its members to specialize in weapons. Obviously my focus has been the bo staff. I have learned a form or two in my school and I was trying to find out if there were some good basic moves i could throw into my freestyle forms to bring them to life. If possible I'd like suggestions for moves that are not only attractive but also in some way useful. I currently am able to do most basic spins, the above the head to behind the back spin, palm spin, got a quick figure 8, I am familiar with all of the 9 strikes (hi mid low each side and then up, down, stab.) I have come up with a few random moves on my own such as one in which i tilt my head and swing the bo where my head would usually be for a head strike, and also vaults that connect with kicks. I can do cartwheels and rolls into pickups and throws without a problem. Although i'm sure ive left some moves out, if anyone has some moves they could suggest to add to my repetoire it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot and I look foward to participating in this site. I currently have a bit over 6 months of regular staff training.

ravemannewbie
3 posts

Posted:
hey i am also a tkd practitioner who is specializing in the staff. wsup... cool to see another guy like me on the first day. neway a coo move is to throw the staff under your arm so it ends up in the back and then flip it over your shoulder to smack the guy in the face. also for some cool staff moves look at any wushu practitioner using the monkey pole. you will get some great ideas from there.

Dragon7GOLD Member
addict
625 posts

Posted:
Awsome! People that actually HOLD the staff. Sry if you dont get it, but most people here pratice "contact" more than traditional strikes.