Forums > Social Chat > Big Friggin' News...maybe

Login/Join to Participate

MikeGinnyGOLD Member
HOP Mad Doctor
13,925 posts

Posted:
Ok, so I was talking to the prof who I've been working for today and I got up the gumption to mention the possibility of my getting a Ph.D. in his lab. Problem is that I'm a medical student at University of Michigan.

So he's going to go and talk to the people at Med School Admissions (at Stanford) about the possibility of me transferring to Stanford to do an M.D./Ph.D. program. That would mean adding 3-4 years to my education. But oh my lord, I want to do it. It's just that most med schools really don't like people transferring, but maybe in this case it might be doable? Oh, and if I was in the program, they'd pay for me...and give me a stipend.

Those of you who pray, please put me in your prayers. If they let me apply, then I'm most likely in. The question is whether they'll let me apply at all. But the thought about moving back to the Bay Area...oh my lord, I hope it goes through.

I'm going to remain pessimistic and assume that I will wind up doing what I planned to do when I woke up this morning, but it would be so amazing if my plans changed and I could be an M.D., Ph.D.

-Mike

Certified Mad Doctor and HoP High Priest of Nutella

A buckuht n a hooze! -Valura

AdeSILVER Member
Are we there yet?
1,897 posts

Posted:
I've got my fingers crossed for you Mike, good luck

Bender_the_OffenderGOLD Member
still can't believe it's not butter
6,978 posts

Posted:
"He who dares my son, he who dares...."

Laugh Often, Smile Much, Post lolcats Always

ValuraSILVER Member
Mumma Hen
6,391 posts

Posted:
Believe Mike... have faith and trust in yourself..know that it will happen and then watch it come about...
I know you'll get it...
lots of love to you Doc

TAJ "boat mummy." VALURA "yes sweetie you went on a boat, was daddy there with you?" TAJ "no, but monkey on boat" VALURA "well then sweetie, Daddy WAS there with you"

CantusSILVER Member