[Nx?]BRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,749 posts

Posted:
yo peeps,

Im just starting out busking and I wonder if anyone has any advice. especially to do with one man shows and stuff. Is is better to have a drummer or sommit, a hat girl?

Have peaple busked with fire inna uk and have they had hassle from council, cops ect?

What about banter? my first instint is to get out and make as much noise as possable, but are there any rules of thumb or tips for this, Im afraid of going over the top and offending someone.

what about insurance, busking buckups and the like?

All help most gratfully apreachated.

Love

N

This is a post by tom, all spelling is deleberate
-><- Kallisti

Muff_Daddymember
45 posts

Posted:

'Statistics are like miniskirts, they reveal more than they hide.'

adren@linemember
249 posts

Posted:
mm, yes. do tell.

ive always found a modest but assertive busker very entertaining and likeable if that helps...

CharlesBRONZE Member
Corporate Circus Arts Entertainer
3,989 posts

Posted:
Adrenaline.

Exactly right! Well, at least, that's what I find works very well for me.

What turns me off, and usually most people in the crowd too, is an ego. There's huge difference between a decent busker and a showoff.

1. Always play down your skills as much as you can. It's sooo easy to impress people when their expectations are low, and almost impossible to impress them when their expectations have been pumped up to massive proportions.

2. Try to lead the public on to suggesting thing you can already do, so that it seems like their idea. I leave my unicyle standing several metres behind my performance area, and someone will always ask me to do it on the "bike".

3. Avoid telling people directly if things are hard or easy, use exaggerated facial expressions to show when something is hard (look so worried that they will start to fear for your safety.