Forums > Social Chat > How do you get a housemate to help clean

Login/Join to Participate

splerphBRONZE Member
75 posts

Posted:
Just wondering if anyone has any advice.
My boyfriend and I share our house with another guy. He's a really great guy but he just won't help clean at all.

We had a rent inspection this week. My Boyfriend has been away for working all week but he did the outside of the house before he went. I asked my housemate if he could just do the laundry and hte lounge and his room. Knowing that if I asked him to do the kitchen or bathroom it wouldn't get done.

I haven't seen him all week. I had to do the lot last night. Not happy Jan.

Anyway any advice on how to get him to help. Keeping in mind I'm not good at conflict or confrontation.

Smile and the whole world smiles with you

chairmenmeow47member
81 posts

Posted:
Well, since he's not been around this may not help much, BUT my suggestion is to throw all of his messy stuff on his bed. That way, he will have to put it all away before he get's into bed. If he's just lazy and throws it all on the floor, you can be real mean and throw a fish under the mess until he can't stand the smell and finally cleans up. <~~~that trick took a MONTH to work on a friend of mine [her dad did it, not me]. or you could just follow him around saying "clean, puh-lease, puh-lease, puh-lease..." in an obnoxious voice until he goes crazy and cleans!!!! can you tell i'm bored at work?!?!?! hope that helps!

-ivy. = ^ )

Ralph, jesus did not have wheels.--sunday school teacher, the simpsons

Cazzarmember
53 posts

Posted:
OK when i was flatting we had a guy who was exactly the same!! HE WAS AN UTTER SLOB!!