Forums > Other Toys > Huge meteor thread, anyone?

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
FirePhoenixnewbie
9 posts

Posted:
Well, I'm certain there are more than a few meteorists around this place - some of which are probably quite good. That being said, all the information is scattered all over the place.

I think it'd be a cool idea if everyone puts down something they want to say about meteors - tips on making them, tips on starting out, tips on hand positions from different kinds of moves - whatever!

I'm fairly new to it all and I cant quite get the 3beat weave down... I can do 2 going forwards and 4 in reverse! Any tips on how to get the third? Hitting myself in the face/nuts every other time is starting to wear thin tongue

ado-pGOLD Member
Pirate Ninja
3,882 posts

Posted:
Best thing to do would be to go through all the posts that appear in the search you did for meteor, its alot i know. I got 149.

Copy out/Quote them all in a big giant post here.

I can guarantee that if you do this, you'll get the response your looking for.

I have meteors so im in. biggrin

Love is the law.

BrassMonkeymember
71 posts

Posted:
I was looking at meteor threads about 2 years ago. But the technical jargon just got too much for me. I would take so long trying to figure out what the name actually meant, only to find out that I was doing it anyway.

So don´t break the tricks down into beats and boxes, just dance around and be patient. If the meteor wraps you up, make it into a trick. Contact meteor is underestimated and underdeveloped. Except for in olympic rhythmic gymnastics and possibly Chinese circus.

My two favourite meteor tricks (the first one was shown to me by a guy from Sheffield, the second one is just an old contact staff trick):

1) Ya know how if you do a butterfly with poi, you can put it behind your head and back? Well, this creates many possibilities with meteors. For this trick, you start with a one-handed butterfly.