Forums > Social Chat > Performance help please

Login/Join to Participate

Captain HazzardBRONZE Member
Ninja (shhhh, don't tell)
420 posts

Posted:
Please please help me!

my best friend is getting married on dec 4th, and he's asked to put on a performance for him at the evening do. I think he wants some kind of big finale, with fireworks and all. i've even been given a budget.

this terrifies me!!!

i've never done anything like this before. i went to the 2 falmouth meets and didn't spin, my skills are low (and so's my confidence). i said yes to him 'coz he's my best friend.

any help and suggestions would be HUGELY appreciated!

I only wanted to be 16... and free

heyahoneyBRONZE Member
Redneck Woman
566 posts

Posted:
Practice...Ummmm. Practice and o yea, practice. Look I doo ballet, along w/alot of other types of dancing and it all take practice. That is all the advice I can give ya hon.

Top Three Things I've Learn While Being A Mom
1. Baby poop comes in many colors.
2. Makes sure all dirty diapers are not accessable to my dog.
3. Burp rags are not big enough.

MandSILVER Member
Keeper of the Spitfire
2,317 posts

Posted:
Does he specifically want you to perform in it, or just for you to organise a performance?

If you've never done performing before, you'll probably be better off getting more experienced people to do the show.
Or, you could get people in to do it, and see if they'll be able to adapt slightly to let you spin aswell.

I'm not sure where Truro is, but I know there's a lot of people in London who perform (namely Bambam and co.).

If you do decide to do it yourself, my advice would be-
Get other people to spin aswell.
Keep it simple.

Oh, and good luck- whatever you decide to do. biggrin

Lets steal a spaceship and head for the sun, and shoot the stars with a lemonade ray gun.

420 posts

Posted:
it might help if i point out that i'm a pretty lame spinner. i've been using poi for about 2 years now. and the only skills i've got under my belt are