Forums > Social Chat > Teaching poi to children?

Login/Join to Participate

tatttySILVER Member
158 posts

Posted:
Hello, was just wondering if anyone had any ideas about teaching poi to little ones. Im a primary school teacher and due to my lack of sporting abilities, was thinking about starting up a poi after school club. Any thoughts? ideas on how to make poi? safety issues etc? bit stuck!
Thank you very muchly xx ubbloco

biggrin

Make your own happiness by making others happy [Ikeda]

*they used to read me stories, as though my dreams were boring*

SkulduggeryGOLD Member
Pirate Pixie Crew Captain
8,428 posts

Posted:
I would suggest getting or making poi with very soft heads. Maybe that could be the starter class. The Children, with help, make their own poi with socks and soft sponge balls. They are cheap to make. I suppose it depends on what funding you have really. As they get better you can replace the sponge balls for tennis balls or bean bags which are a bit heavier. If you have the funding I'd go for the fluffy poi on HoP. Everyone says they are the softest poi about.

Make sure you have lots of helpers, because trying to keep control of lots and lots of small children all spinning at once would be quite hard. Also they will all learn at different rates so will need a bit more one to one attention.

Make sure they do a few stretching warm up movements first.
Maybe if you have the space you could introduce other things as you go along, tumbling, juggling, Staff, diablo.... there are plenty to choose from.

Most of all just make it fun and interesting. Invite local spinners to give them a demo. Have an end of year show that they can work up to. Let them dress up, face paint, .... it all adds to the fun.

Good Luck.

p.s. Where abouts are you? You might find willing volunteers on Hop to help you run it.

Feed me Chocolate!!! Feed me NOW!

Rouge DragonBRONZE Member
Insert Champagne Here
13,215 posts

Posted: