Page:
majikenthusiast
231 posts

Posted:
I have been learning the art of hula hoops for the past 18 months
and have found it to be a great new toy to play with. I never
thought there was so many things you could do with a hula
hoop.

I also use poi and staff and usually make my own equiptment. I have recently been thinking about making a fire hula hoop. I have heard of them but have never met anyone who uses them.

I was wondering if anyone knew anything about how to make them or where I could get one?

thanks smile

ubblovemajik

Live, love, laugh and dance!

PyrolificBRONZE Member
Returning to a unique state of Equilibrium
3,289 posts

Posted:
Ive seen two types of fire hula. The first was a hula with wicks coming out on three inch wires about 6-8 times around the perimeter...the other was a hoop with another attached hoop about 3 inches out with fire rope all the way round the outer hoop. I dont know specifically how they were made just saw them from a distance.

Good luck - I've seen AMAZING Hoop stuff done, and I think its a WAY under-represented twirling/dancing art.

Josh

--
Help! My personality got stuck in this signature machine and I cant get it out!

majikenthusiast
231 posts

Posted:
Thanks Josh
I have seen the first design you have mentioned though not the second. Though I am stumped on how to attach the wires without them coming through to the inside of the hoop. I also wanted to know what the hoop is made from. I make day hoops with plastic pipe but I'm not sure whether it will handle the heat.
I agree that it is a way under-represented art, when I first started using poi 6 years ago I had to explain what they were to people, though now everyones seen fire twirling. I hope it can be that way with hoops to. I would love to meet more hoop artists as I only know one other hoopists.
I'm glad you agree that hoops are GREAT!!!hugbiggrin
ubblovemajik

rbmnycBRONZE Member
lurker
194 posts

Posted:
Check this out:

https://www.irongypsy.com/frame.htm