Page:
_Clare_BRONZE Member
Still wiggling
5,967 posts

Posted:
This is a bit of a shameful admission... redface
(god, it feels like the intro to a Poi Anonymous meet)

I've been playing poi for two years... and I still haven't mastered the hyperloop/chain-twist-then-untwist move.

My big ol' heavy dogchains just ended up spinning at chaotic speeds, usually finishing their demented spin by hitting me in the face...

I've been lurking in homeofpoi forums for a good while now, and someone always mentions the benefit of sock poi... of course, I thought I knew best... cos it's always best to get used to the weight of your firepoi, right?!!

Ahem... no. Yesterday, for the first time (!!!), I made up some sock poi, and... managed a fairly nice hyperloop straight off!!!! Wayhey, joy and delight... biggrin

Course, I then spent the rest of the afternoon kicking myself round the garden for not trying it sooner... lol. I reckon with a bit more refining, and now I know the basics, I might even get it with my chains... weavesmiley

Just wanted to y'know... share ubblol
Take care xoxo

Getting to the other side smile

RicheeBRONZE Member
HOP librarian
1,841 posts

Posted:
How cones look like?

:R

POI THEO(R)IST

Unboundednewbie
4 posts

Posted:
Personally ive never really seen any joy in sock poi. I tried it once then i just grabbed some shoelaces and glowsticks.. when i got better i made a really nice set that i occasionaly rave with. The problem with glowsticks is .. it doesnt have as much of a danger factor as fire .. and girls usually think glowstick ravers much less cool than people spinning fire. So i started going to the beach and spinning fire and its been quite fun! I mean glowstick or sock spinnning is fun and all (glowsticks at least have a light trail) but fire really gives that extra booost to the trance/adreneline rush!

alien_oddityCarpal \'Tunnel
7,193 posts

Posted: